Steve Jobs: Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.

6 Oct

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” -Steve Jobs

Experimenting with computers in his parents' garage when Steve was 20

Four years ago in my Intro to Computers class in high school, I watched a mockumentary about the history of the creation of the computer and the people involved. Of course the two main characters were Bill Gates and Steve Jobs. I remember being so incredibly fascinated by Steve’s story in particular, as the movie portrayed how he had dropped out of college and started sitting in on classes that actually interested him rather than the ones he was required to take (including a calligraphy class that influenced the fonts used in personal computers.) He also became a bit of a hippie and followed the counterculture ideology of “think different,” which later became a powerful slogan for the Apple Company. Whether he was experimenting with electronics or drugs, or traveling to India “in search of Nirvana,” Steve definitely took an alternative path. Learning about this background to the creation of the computer lead me to write one of the most interesting essays I have ever written and creating a documentary with other students on how the ideals of the 1960’s counterculture movement influenced the creation of computers and the internet. This “learning journey” was very powerful in influencing one of my passions: the use of technology for social change. And I can thank Steve Jobs and his story for sparking this interest. 

Multiple times people have sent me Steve’s commencement speech to Stanford in 2005, and I haven’t actually gotten around to watching the whole thing until now, on a sad day after his death. As I sit in a hostel in Scotland, I watch the speech on Youtube and get goosebumps.

This happens particularly after he says: “You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something — your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. Because believing that the dots will connect down the road will give you the confidence to follow your heart, even when it leads you off the well-worn path. And that will make all the difference.” I  can say that, like all other eduventurists, I have time and time again come to points during my alternative path where I have questioned myself and thought “what the hell am I doing? I should just take the easy route and do what society tells me is the safest route for the future.” But, as Steve re-affirms, following another person’s voice and not my own inner voice is not exactly the solution to living the life that I will derive the most meaning from. I highly recommend you watch the short speech above, especially if you are a young person questioning your own path, whether it be conventional or nonconventional. 

Thank you Steve, and may you rest in peace.

4 Responses to “Steve Jobs: Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.”

  1. Steven Keihner October 6, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    This says it all. Great Job (pi) Weezie – and so beautifully written – it really touched me.

    Steve

    • Weezie October 6, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

      Thanks Steve, it is inspiring to see how many people he affected in so many different ways.

      See you back in MV!

  2. Sophie October 6, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    “Remembering you’re going to die, is the best way I know, to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.” – Steve Jobs

  3. Lisa P October 6, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    Thank you, Weezie. You are a gifted writer (just like your Pop!) and are a phenomenal example of someone bold enough to follow her heart. LOVE that! You are one of my superheros to be sure. In fact, I’m making a cape for ya with a giant “W” on it (on second thought I wouldn’t want you to be confused with George Bush 🙂

Leave a Reply

