Back to Eduventuring

7 Aug

 

What I tell myself as I begin my solo Eduventure abroad

After having gone MIA for a while, the Eduventurist is back! I ended up becoming very busy with several things in May, including an interesting internship with WorldCorps (more on that experience later), as well as summer vacation in general. I have been on a small island in Greece since the middle of June and will be here working until September. One piece of news is that I ended up deciding to extend my gap semester to a gap year, as I felt like my learning and experience with Eduventurist was not finished, and that I wanted to continue to grow it. I myself had spent the spring semester back at home in the Bay area, and after having heard about many other Eduventurists’ experiences traveling, learning, and engaging abroad, I wanted my own eduventure to encompass various other places and people in the world. At the moment I am working in Greece to save up money for my plans this fall, in which I hope to accomplish several things, including:

  • Continue interviewing and researching for The Eduventurist Project. There are several people I have interviewed in the past that I will be posting about, as well as people I am working to schedule times for skype interviews. Simultaneously, I will be writing about my own Eduventure, and will offer tips and advice from my experiences for others looking to do similar things. 
  • Live and work in an alternative, sustainable community and/or participating in some sort of work exchange (such as WWOOFing)
  • Participate in an internship in the field(s) of social innovation and entrepreneurship, alternative education, marketing and communication, and/or international sustainable development. I am in the process of researching and contacting people in regards to this internship, so if anyone has any ideas or suggestions, please let me know!
  • Gain new and strengthen old knowledge and skills (i.e. growing food, making some sort of art, website building, group facilitation, curriculum design, networking, etc.)
  • Meet lots of interesting, different people and engage with them in conversations that matter (this could range in topic from the meaning of life to the best way to cook banana bread). 

I also just found out that I was featured in Anya Kamenetz’s new eBook. Check out pages 10-12 and 92! 

As I’ve said before, feel free to write me for any reason! Whether it be a suggestion for a person to interview, or the best way to travel cheaply in Europe, or even a general comment or feedback on this project, don’t hesitate to send me an email at eduventurist@gmail.com. I really appreciate everyone who has reached out, the project has really grown out of many peoples’ input and ideas. 

One Response to “Back to Eduventuring”

  1. Sophie August 15, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    I miss you.

Leave a Reply

